#30 High School Football

On Friday nights between August and December, small town Cajuns can be found enjoying the local high school football game all around Acadiana. They go for different reasons, but whether it’s to root for a relative’s son, or support their home town, high school football is cheap, fun entertainment for the whole family. It’s like a Saint’s game, but sometimes your home team actually wins one. (Ok, I know the Saints have been very good the past few seasons, but they’ll forever be frozen in my memory as the loveable never-won-a-playoff-game Saints of my youth.)

Sitting amongst the crowd, you can hear the locals yelling out plays from the bleachers. Pick up dat ball couyon! Block dat kick! Pass de ball to T-Boy over dere! The stands are filled with old timers reliving the football glory of their youth, with only a pair of busted knees and a worn out letterman jacket to show for it.

Louisiana football players have been well represented in the NFL. Hall of Famer Terry Bradshaw was born in Shreveport Louisiana (I know Shreveport is barely part of Louisiana, but I’m still counting him). In recent years, Jake Delhomme, Peyton and Eli Manning, Kevin Faulk, Marshall Faulk, Bobby Boucher, and many others have proudly represented our state. In terms of population, only Washington DC and Mississippi have more NFL players. Not bad for a bunch of Louisiana boys.

Most high school football games are a blast, but nothing beats the excitement of playing a rival team, usually from the neighboring town. This is a game of high stakes, since the losing town has to endure a year of taunts and humiliation from the winning side. The big game for me was the Cecilia Bulldogs vs the Breaux Bridge Tigers. Readers of The Daily Advertiser voted this game the largest high school rivalry in Louisiana. In the week leading up to the game, trash talking ramps up, houses are toilet papered, and fights break out between students as tensions rise. On the night of the big game, the whole town practically shuts down as just about everyone goes to the game. This is the loudest game of the season with chants of De-Fense and the thunder of synchronized bleacher stomping filling the air. Even in a losing season, we Cecilia locals can hold our head up high as long as we manage to whup Breaux Bridge. What’s your towns big rivalry?

Cecilia Bulldog Fight Song

Fight for our colors, green and gold
Fight for our honour, heart and soul

Lift up her glory, lift up her name

Shake down the thunder with her fame

Win or lose, we’ll never be blue
We stand together, loyal and true

We’re from Cecilia, this is our song

Cecilia, right or wrong, Hey!

20 thoughts on “#30 High School Football

  1. I miss going to high school football games, I haven’t been to one since, well high school.

    As far as big rivalries go, I went to Carencro High, we had more than one big rival. As a matter of fact just about every team we played was a rival.

    There was the Acadiana rivalry simply because they were so close together, some of the kids you went to elementary school with would go to one high school or the other depending on which side of the street you lived on.

    The other big time rival was West Monroe. This is a fairly new rivalry which only start in about 1998 when Monroe beat Carencro in the 5A state championship.

  2. It’s probably a state pride vs local pride thing. I know people who don’t give a damn about college football, but love cheering their local team.

  3. I went to *cough* Delcambre High School (don’t hold that againt me). Our big rival was Vermillion Catholic. Once I graduated and moved on to LSU I stopped caring about my high school team…oh wait, I never really cared for my high school team, I was always rooting for New Iberia Senior High!

  4. Corey – Did your players play in Delcambre Reeboks? I remember New Iberia and St Martinville always had pretty good teams.

  5. With the way they played that might as well have. BTW, I’m not from Delcambre, I am from New Iberia (I feel like I have to say that every time I say I went to DHS LOL). I was forced to go to suckass DHS due to the overcrowding of NISH. Most of my friends went to NISH and yes, the NISH/St. Martinville rivalry was pretty big. I think my older sister was blacklisted when she started dating a St. Martinville High boy.

  6. I know that you would hardly consider this part of Louisiana as well haha, but growin up for me it was Ruston vs. West Monroe. You can be guaranteed that at each game, WM let us get a few points ahead in the first half. But come the second half, we got our asses whooped everytime. Damn those rebels…

  7. Naa, you guys are part of Louisiana…but just barely ;). Growing up, I considered anyone living above Alexandria a “Northerner”.

  8. This isn’t just a Cajun thing, though… this happens all over the south. Trust. I went to high school with Jason Witten. The guy practically shits gold in my hometown.

    Love your blog, btw. I’m from TN, but I love LA culture!

  9. haha everyone so funny. but i still rep for my team ST. MARTINVILLE SENIOR HIGH TIGERS!..from big seth! haha i love my team and i still support them all the way. i miss them like crazy and we having a good season. our biggest rival was WESTGATE! but we lost 26-19. it was really no hard feelings but a really great game to watch.
    ILOVE THE TIGERS!

  10. Good times on those Friday nights when I was in high school. No matter if it was warm, rainy, cold etc. It was fun. I worked at many games at the concession stands, because I could I could see the games for free. I miss those nights of the roaring crowds.

  11. DC Cajun reppin’ The Ville here! Fortunately for me, my senior year, we not only beat both Breaux Bridge and Cecilia, but we also won state (1981). Best memory was when we met up with Cecilia, both teams undefeated. We were dressing in the CJH gym just outside the stadium and one of the coaches started kicking a loose metal panel on one of the outside walls. We peeled back the panel and an adjacent one, lining up to rush out of the gym through our makeshift exit – yelling and screaming all the way to the stadium and onto the field. Next thing the stunned crowd (the Cecilia side anyway) knew, the Tigers were up 40-0 and the game was pretty much over.

    Met a dude here in DC that claims that he was Jake Delhomme’s center at Teurlings back in the day. Cool to remember the good ol’ days, back when things were much more simple and a whole lot less stressful. Thanks for providing this cool forum, chuval.

    BTW, there is a guy from Cecilia who has a bakery out this way (I think that he was featured in the Teche Newss awhile back too). He is doing us Cajuns proud up here, that’s fo’ sho’.

  12. I think this is one of the most important information
    for me. And i am glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few
    general things, The web site style is perfect, the articles is really nice : D.
    Good job, cheers

  13. Howdy, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was
    just wondering if you get a lot of spam remarks? If so how do
    you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can advise?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any support is very much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

