Becoming an Honorary Cajun

The Golden Crawfish

Feeling a bit left out reading these posts? Have you been living in Cajun country for the last few years, but still don’t quite fit in? Well what you need to do is become an Honorary Cajun Citizen. It’s like being knighted, only better, and your only civic duties are to attend Mardis Gras, the Crawfish Festival, and any event that provides free beer and entertainment.

Requirements:

  • Can you speak French? Neither can most of us. It is, however, mandatory to know at least 5 Cajun swear words. Extra points will be given for creativity.
  • Peel at least 20 crawfish per minute, or cpm. Bonus if you suck the heads.
  • You sprinkle your conversations with keeyaw and chére.
  • You can cook an acceptable gumbo, etouffee, and jambalaya (must be judged by a panel of real Coonasses).
  • Do you own a pair of rubber fishing boots? Bonus points if they are white.

That’s all there is to it. If you meet these requirements, then you can swear yourself in by placing your hand on a copy of ‘Talk about Good‘ and shotgunning a beer…and wait for your own Golden Crawfish Award™ to arrive in the mail.

Cajun Study Materials

13 thoughts on “Becoming an Honorary Cajun

  1. HAHAHAHA I’m pretty sure I’m taking out my white boots this weekend to go pick blackberries. Although, I’ve been considering going to target and getting some dressier white boots that have pictures on them and stuff.

  2. Cajun Reboks, baby! I still have the little baby rubber boots that were my son’s first pair. He’ll be 17 soon. They just so cute.

    Chhhhheeerrrreee’, ‘tite fils. (SHHHHAAAAAA, teee fee)

  3. Okay, so what exactly *are* those Cajun swear words we need to know? Enquiring minds and all…

    But seriously, I’m a writer working on a new book, and my Cajun character is getting very tired of saying merde and Dieu. He needs some new material! (he’s spec ops so don’ be shy now)

    Any and all help appreciated. Private answer is fine.

    Nina
    GSprngBear@aol.com

  4. My wife is from PA, but shes cajun by injection, i give her booster shots as often as i can. Be it in tha truck, sofa or bed.

  5. I am Cajun but live in Oregon and need a pair of my own Cajun Reeboks. Finding some on line but unsure what size to order. I’m female and wear a 7 1/2 to 8 size tennis shoe, All I find is men’s white boots. Any one know what men’s size I should order?

  6. I think this is among the most important
    info for me. And i am glad reading your article.
    But wanna remark on few general things, The web site style is great, the articles is really excellent : D.
    Good job, cheers

Leave a comment