#13 Fried Seafood Buffets

Seafood PlatterSo you been working all day and can’t get visions of fried shrimp, crawfish, and oysters out of your head? Sounds to me like you got yourself a serious envie for a seafood buffet, and there’s only one type of seafood buffet that a real Cajun craves…a Fried Seafood Buffet! I’m not talkin’ about no pan fried Panko breadcrumb covered nonsense. I’m talkin’ about dredged-in-flour and deep-fat-fried Cajun goodness.

A fried seafood buffet is a beautiful thing to behold: crunchy, artery clogging goodness as far as the eye can see. Brings tears to my eyes just thinking about it. There ain’t no sushi on a Cajun buffet, but you’ll find plenty of fried shrimp, fried catfish, fried oyster, fried crawfish, fried froglegs, and fried clams. Just tryin’ to see if you were paying attention, there ain’t no fried clams on a Cajun seafood buffet, couyon!

I know you’re thinking all this meat sounds primal, but we’re not animals. We also got some civilized touches like tarter sauce, etoufée, gumbo, stuffed shrimp, stuffed crab, french fries, and fried hush puppies on the side. Just load up your plate, squirt a little lemon juice over everything (that’ll prevent scurvy), and dig in. Repeat as necessary.

Next time you’re down in Lafayette, I suggest you drop by Lagneaux’s Restaurant and dig in to their abundant seafood buffet. Sure, there are better sit down restaurants in town, but none give you the full fried seafood buffet experience (FFSBE®) like Lagneaux’s does. Chime in and let me know what your favorite buffets are.

Here’s 2 funny Coonasses that really love buffets:

8 thoughts on “#13 Fried Seafood Buffets

  1. As far as I’m concerned, that Chinese restaurant got what they deserved. Cheap bastids. They put all that good stuff like Shrimp Balls and Frog Legs on their buffet to entice people to come and eat and then get upset when people do it. I don’t think that Boiled Shrimp and Fried Frog Legs is Chinese food…

    Yeah, maybe these guys overate, but there are MANY who don’t eat near what they charge. Cost of doing business. If you don’t want people to eat all they can, then don’t advertise it.

    You talked about one of the best buffets at the Popeye’s on Pinhook, but my favorite is/was the Shoney’s Breakfast Buffet. Not ALL fried, but a good portion of it is.

    As for the lemon juice, you got that right. It’s considered the Cajun Nectar of the Gods. Here’s a lemonrific example of proper lemon usage….

    http://www.mikeandersonsbr.com/images/gallery/pic4.html

  2. You are right, cajuns love their fried seafood buffets- I don’t really do buffets anymore becuase I rarely eat enough to make it worth my while- but I do love going to Middendorf’s in Manchac for their fried catfish platter.

    To. Die. For.

    yum.

  3. I used to hit the Shoney’s buffet back in college, but that was when I could still burn off all those calories. What is it about Cajun’s and gluttony? I have a bad habit of eating whatever’s in front of me, regardless of whether or not I’m hungry.

    If anyone asks me what a Cajun sounds like, I point them to the Jimmy Kimmel clip. I thought those two should get a recurring role on the show.

  4. My cousin’s dh once at 4 doz fried oysters off the buffet at that place, now closed, that was on Johnston next to Don’s Seafood Hut. What was that called? I’ll probably remember in the morning LOL!!!

    Anyhow he ate the 4 doz fried oysters, plus crawfish etoufee, fried catfish, etc. More than made up for his wife’s non gluttony

Leave a Reply

