#7 Popeyes Fried Chicken

Popeyes Fried Chicken

Last Sunday, founder of Popeyes Fried Chicken Al Copeland died of cancer at the age of 64. Despite growing up poor in New Orleans, Al became a millionaire with his spicy fried chicken and buttery biscuits. Now I was gonna to get to Popeyes sooner or later, but it seems now that sooner is better. Rest in peace Mr. Fried Chicken Man.

Ask any Cajun what his favorite fast food place is, and 9 times out of 10, it’ll be Popeyes Fried Chicken. It’s got everything a Coonass needs. Biscuits. Check. Fried chicken, shrimp, catfish. Check. Red beans and rice. Check. Cajun rice. Check. Heart bypass…well you gotta go to the doctor for dat one.

In an age where other fast food places are putting salad and skinless boneless chicken breasts on their menus, Popeyes remains unapologetically deep fat fried. Go get your tofu and salad somewhere else little girl. And if you’re feeling adventurous (or possibly suicidal), visit the Popeyes mecca in Lafayette at the corner of South College and Pinhook, where you can eat yourself to death at their all-you-can-eat Popeyes buffet.

The best thing about Popeyes is that it’s franchised throughout the United States, giving Cajun transplantees a nice source of comfort food when they get a little lonely for their mama’s cookin’.

21 thoughts on “#7 Popeyes Fried Chicken

  1. i was craving some popeyes real bad recently on a sunday afternoon and walked over to the one closest to where i live in manhattan (13th and 1st) and found that it closed down.

    i almost cried.

  2. There are a bunch still open here in Dallas. I go there whenever I need to get my fried food fix. Any good Cajun places up in Neew Yoork City?

  3. They’re all over the South. I’m in Mobile and there’s three within a mile of me.

    chuval — you should have seen the kamikaze missions when the A&P was across the street from that Popeye’s.

  4. As someone that’s from NOLA, I have to say, any Popeye’s someplace other than New Orleans isn’t as up to par as one here. I have NO IDEA why.

    I try not to eat it too often, though… but sometimes a cajun girl just needs some buttermilk biscuits and dirty rice!!!

    (i’m loving your blog, by the way. I posted on mine about “pocking eggs” and you came up on a google search I did, when I wanted to explain it to non- cajuns!
    Curious- my parents are from Cenla! where are you from?

  5. I’m a Cecilia boy, went to USL, but I live in Dallas now. Gotta go where the work is. I get back home a few times a year though.

  6. That’s good to know. My parents grew up in Cenla- but now live in the NOLA metro.

    yesterday- al copeland’s funeral was on the news- and a jazz band played the “love that chicken” song for his processional.

    And on my way home from work, I passed in front of the place where he stored his boats, motorcycles, etc. and they were all locked up and there was a big banner honoring him. Sad day in New Orleans!

  7. South College and Pinhook Popeyes. Hell yes. It’s within walking distance from my house and THE reason I gained 30 pounds in grad school.

  8. The closest to us is the Popeye’s in Huntsville Ala. We live in southern Middle Tn. I could almost drive the 40 miles right now to get me some Popeye’s . Best biscuits ever you didn’t make at home yourself. (drooling)

  9. They do offer them in Tennesee and North Alabama. I guess thats northern for all ya’ll in La. Not sure about north of Tn.I travel “down” more than”up”.

  10. Not a fan of Popeye’s Biscuits. They do tend to get hard if not immediately eaten. Their fries are nearly inedible.

    That said I do love their chicken. The NO Chicken at Popeye’s IS the best I’ve ever eaten.

    One T’giving we went to the Pinhook location for the Fried Turkey & OMG it was to die for. So moist & juicy & not greasy tasting at all.

  11. When I was a kid we (late 70s/early 80s) lived between Lafayette and Broussard, and we’d go to the Pinhook & South College Popeye’s a fair bit. There’s never been another location near as good. The one by my house in Maryland is okay, I guess, but they serve the smallest pieces of chicken I’ve ever seen. It’s like they’re pigeon legs or something.

  12. Snowballs didn’t make the list? The bi-annual return trip to Morgan City usually entails 1 or 2 trips per day to the Cajun Sneaux stand!

  13. Someone necessarily help to make seriously articles I would state. That is the first time I frequented your website page and thus far? I surprised with the research you made to make this particular post extraordinary. Wonderful job!

  14. I just saw a commercial about Popeye’s and now I want some sooo bad…But it’s nine o’clock at night and the closest one is about twenty five miles…I wish they would putone in Rincon, GA…Then I would only have to drive about eight miles……

  15. I am a recent transplant to east Texas from Portland, Oregon where we had 2 Popeye’s, one within walking distance from my old house. I admit I live about 20 miles from any town Tyler or Longview but I have not been able to locate any Popeyes! Come on, there are Cajuns around here, but no Popeyes?

  16. Popeyes is good, don’t get me wrong, but Chubby’s over in Algiers, LA is better in my opinion (and also the original Popeye’s before Popeyes was even thought of).

Leave a Reply

